There’s a lot to look forward to in 2024 in the world of women’s football. Here’s some highlights to keep an eye on.


Paris 2024

This year’s showpiece is without doubt the Paris 2024 Olympics.

The women’s football tournament will be held across seven venues in France – Paris; Marseille; Lyon; Bordeaux; Saint-Étienne; Nice; Nantes – from 25th July to 10th August.

Just 12 nations compete to win the Gold Medal. Five have already confirmed their spots. Current holders Canada saw off Jamaica in qualifying. Brazil, Colombia and the USA will also be there alongside hosts France.

The two places from the AFC will be determined in the Third Round of qualifying. Australia face Uzbekistan and Japan take on North Korea in two legged ties (24th and 28th February).

With France directly qualifying as hosts, the final two UEFA spots will be decided on the completion of the Nations League in February. Spain, Germany, Netherlands and France are the semi-finalists. The two finalists will head to Paris in the summer. If one of those is France, then the winner of the Third Place Play-Off qualifies.

Also in February (7th-19th February), Samoa will host the OFC Qualifying Tournament for the federation’s one Olympic spot. New Zealand will be favourites.

Finally, CAF’s two places will decided with the conclusion of their qualifying tournament. The Second Round will run from 19th-28th February before the Third Round from 1st-9th April.

Check out the full schedule and more information here.


Nations League

The inaugural Nations League comes to an end in the February international window.

Spain host the Netherlands and France play Germany in the semi-finals on Friday 23rd February. The Final and Third Place Play-Off will then take place on Wednesday 28th February.

There are also a handful of promotion/relegation play-offs (23rd + 27th February) to determine group positions for the European qualifying phase. Northern Ireland face Montenegro in a two-legged encounter to determine whether they will maintain their League B status.


Spain celebrate FIFAWWC 2023 win


Euro 2025 Qualifying

With all group positions finally determined, qualification for Euro 2025 will commence in April.

England have retained their League A status with the Republic of Ireland joining them. Wales and Scotland have dropped into League B and it remains to be seen if Northern Ireland will keep their spot.

The top two in all League A groups + hosts Switzerland qualify directly for the tournament. Play-offs in the autumn will then determine the remaining seven spots.

The draw for Euro 2025 will take place on 16th December.


W Gold Cup

The USA will host the inaugural W Gold Cup from 20th February to 10th March. The tournament will be staged across four host cities – Carson; San Diego; Los Angeles and Houston.

Nine teams have qualified already – USA; Canada; Mexico; Panama; Costa Rica; Brazil; Colombia; Argentina; Paraguay – with the three remaining spots to be decided in play-offs on 17th February. Haiti will play Puerto Rico, El Salvador will face Guatemala and Guyana take on Dominican Republic in Carson.

There will be a Group Stage consisting of three groups. The top two in each will progress to the quarter-finals along with the two best third-placed sides.

The Final will be held at San Diego’s Snapdragon Stadium on Sunday 10th March.


Lindsay Horan, USA


U17 + U19 Euros


Round 2 of Qualifying begins on 17th February and will be completed by 24th March.

England, Wales and Scotland sit in League A and have the opportunity of qualifying for the summer’s European Championships.

England are in Group 6 alongside Italy, Greece and Serbia who will host the mini tournament from 10th-16th March. Wales will travel to Norway in Group 4 along with Sweden and Switzerland from 11th-17th March. Scotland are in Group 7 alongside Poland, Denmark and North Macedonia. They will travel to Poland from 13th-19th March.

The seven group winners and hosts Sweden will progress to the 2024 U17 Euros to be held from 5th-18th May. If Sweden top their group, the best runner-up will also qualify.

Northern Ireland and the Republic of Ireland sit in League B and will compete for promotion to League A for next season’s Round 1 of qualifying.

Find out more information here.



Round 2 of Qualifying for this year’s U19 European Championships takes place between 2nd-9th April.

England and the Republic of Ireland will both feature in League A. Ireland will travel to hosts Croatia in Group 2 along with Austria and Iceland. England are in Group 3 and will travel to hosts Portugal along with Italy and Switzerland. These matches will take place from 3rd-9th April.

The seven group winners and hosts Lithuania will progress to the 2024 U19 Euros to be held from 14th-27th July.

Wales, Northern Ireland and Scotland sit in League B and will be competing for promotion to League A for next season’s Round 1 of qualifying.

Find out more information here.

U17 + U20 World Cup

The biennial youth World Cups return this year.

It will be the eighth edition of the U17 World Cup. Dominican Republic will be the hosts of the tournament that runs from 16th October to 3rd November. Only the hosts and New Zealand have confirmed their spots so far of the 16 participants.

If any or all of England/Wales/Scotland reach the U17 Euros in May, they will have the chance at qualifying. The two finalists of the European Championships will take up a place at the World Cup alongside the winner of the Third Place Play-Off.

Colombia will host the 11th edition of the U20 World Cup between 31st August and 22nd September. Half of the 24 participants have already been revealed. UEFA’s five spot were decided at last year’s U19 Euros with Austria, France, Germany, Netherlands and defending champions Spain all qualifying. CONCACAF’s allocation has also been set with Canada, Costa Rica, Mexico and the USA as well as the OFC’s two representatives, New Zealand and Fiji. AFC, CAF and CONMEBOL nations will be decided this year.


2027 World Cup host decided

The host of the 2027 Women’s World Cup will be announced at the FIFA Congress on the 17th May.

Three bids were submitted to FIFA in December. Mexico and USA have joined together as have Belgium, Germany and the Netherlands. Brazil are the other option.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.